babyRR.com - The Range Rover Evoque Forum

Full Version: New car paint treatment
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

Im new to LL/RR. What would be the recommended new car treatment for the paint?

Over here in Sweden we have companies like Ditec and Mr CAP that do new car treatment programs.

Just wanted to hear what you more experienced LL/RR owners recommend?

Also interested in recommended leather treatments for the interior?

Many thanks in advance for all good advice,

"Hybris"
This is the first LR out of the 8 I have owned in the last 16 years that I have had any paint treatment done on, you don't need it. I had it done as I have gone for a white car and wanted to see if the system I have gone for is actually worth it after 3 years use.
I agree, waste of money. Best thing to do is to wash the car regularly, especially the wheels and, twice a year, use a good polish like Autoglym to help water/dirt bead and run-off. I think anything more is a bit obsessional though you will find me keeping the exhaust finishers clean - just a wipe when they are hot is all it takes.

As for leather, try to prevent it getting dirty in the first place and use a leather cleaner/feed on the surfaces which wear - seat facings, especially side bolsters, door grabs and steering wheel to stop it from drying out.
My aussie dealer is also offering electronic rust prevention for the evoque. I am not sure if this is needed. Anybody any experience?
Maarten, not necessary, the body is fully treated at the building stage with an electrolytically applied "galvanising" type treatment - if you want extra then the best thing to do is get the car up on a hoist and apply the traditional Land Rover corrosion inhibiter Finigan's Waxoyl.