Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Fitting an in-line socket for cigarette-lighter plug
TE12BOY

Fitting an in-line socket for cigarette-lighter plug

Hi, I want to fit an in-line socket for cigarette-lighter plug hidden under the dash (behind the trim) so that I can use it to permanently fit power leads for my iPhone 4S/ iPhone 5 which will be on a windscreen mount. Can anyone give me any guidance on achieving this? I obviously need a permanent or accessory wired supply. The power use would be low so does not need to be protected by a highly rated fuse.

I would appreciate any kind of information. Although I have carried out this type of thing before that was in the days when one connection was the supply and the other was to the metal body of the car (earth). I'm pretty certain things have moved on so consider me a complete novice on this one!

Regards,
Terrence ​Smile
23-09-2012 08:39pm
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
XFullFatTim
Bat wielding forum enforcer

RE: Fitting an in-line socket for cigarette-lighter plug

Terrence, welcome to the forums

Have you thought about the LR accessory mount that gets hard wired into the system that allows owners of the other cars made by LR that don't have the connectivity that Evoque has? You may be able to get one on ebay or from Forum sponsor Duckworth. Part No LR002787 Audio Connectivity Module - not sure if it is connectable to the Meridian system as other LR vehicles have Alpine systems or Harmon Kardon

A Pangea Green New Defender 110 First Edition is now sitting on my drive alongside British Racing Green Electric Mini Cooper SE Level 3. After 21 years in my hands my TDI300 90 was handed on to the next custodian on 15 July 2022.
(This post was last modified: 23-09-2012 08:51pm by XFullFatTim.)
23-09-2012 08:45pm
pureevoque