Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
What to look out for with these cars
yasser91

What to look out for with these cars

Hi all,

Bear with me I'm new to the RR world (own a C63 AMG Merc so a geek about that world haha!).

I am looking to buy the wife a RR Evoque 2013 Reg (63 plate Pure) Auto - 65k miles - full service (last service 63k miles).

I have spoken to my dad and he has told me these cars are very unreliable, so I decided to go against his word and get one anyway LOL!

What should I look out for today before parting with my money? What are the service intervals and what are the major services the car needs to stay safe and away from any major issues.

Is there a chain or cambelt and does this need replacing?

Heard some issues with the gearbox can be problematic etc...?

Basically please go easy on me and educate me on what to look out for and check, also if it needs anything in particular changed at those miles.

Many thanks in advance for anyones help Smile
22-06-2017 10:36am
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
XFullFatTim
Bat wielding forum enforcer

RE: What to look out for with these cars

Welcome to the forum Yasser

1st - does you dad own or has he ever owned any recentLand Rover or Range Rover? If not then he is only going on gossip/ hearsay as they are actually more reliable than Mercedes/Audis and BMW's these days - I see more Porsches on flat beds than I see Evoques.

Tips for buying -

Pay the little bit extra for a Land Rover Approved vehicle as you will get a very comprehensive warranty - dealers also have the best cars and they must all have full service history before they are accepted as Approved Used.

A 2013MY will have the 2.2 diesel or the 4 cylinder Petrol Turbo and a later one will have the ZF 9 speed Auto rather than the 6 speed auto (if you want an auto, but they perform better than the manuals and any a Range Rover should be an auto!)