Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
New Turbo
redrovor

New Turbo

I am a fast driver that enjoys the power of turbo/ supercharged cars. That being said, I recently had to bring my evoque in for some lights on on the dash and some warning messages ie... stability control no backup camera lines, selector has to be manually returned to park to shut off engine. Fix was, new steering torque sensor and new backup battery. They also said somehow I had a check engine light on I never saw it but they diagnosed it to be a bad turbo. the turbo was replaced and after getting my evoque back it constantly goes into over boost and "safe mode" (restricted performance) electronics were recalibrated and tested and once again took it out on the freeway, upon acceleraton up to 55-60 (most likely max boost) a soft engine miss and once again car goes into restricted performance mode. This problem has occured four times and has spent weeks at the dealer. Has anyone had this problem? if so what was the fix?
02-10-2018 02:01pm
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RogB

RE: New Turbo

not had this on an Evoque but had it on a Vauxhall Insignia 2.0 diesel although im assuming you have the 2.0 petrol turbo.

under acceleration mine would suddenly cut and go into limp mode. I had to pull over, stop the engine for about 5 minutes and then restart and it would be mostly fine for a short while but then do it again.

the Turbo was changed under warranty but it still happened, so after some prompting from me they changed the overboost actuator, a small fuel filter sized component. This fixed the problem for good.

apparently the actuator creates an effect like having a 2nd turbo cut in at the top of the power/rev range. and allow for an extra bit of power under hard acceleration. Mine was sticking in the open position so trying to continuously overboost which the ECU didn't like so switched on the limp mode.

hope this helps.