Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
New to detailing
Deaky

New to detailing

After being let down by a local detailer I've decided to 'have a go' myself

I have a few products on thier way but I'm just wondering what order to do things in. I have Gtechniq C1 new paintwork kit, clay bar and carnuba wax.

Should I ...

Wash the car
Clay bar
Wash the car
Gtechniq C1
Wax???

Confused
21-06-2012 10:34am
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
PhilSkill

RE: New to detailing

I'm no expert by any means but this is what i've learnt through some research, and don't take what I say as advice Smile

If you haven't already Read gTechniq : How to Apply

C1 is professional use, so be careful to understand it's properties, and get your prep right and follow the instructions, I think an IPA wipe down is essential to remove all traces of previous waxes and treatments even just a wash/wax by the dealer, you don't know whats on the paint.

I degreased my wheels (not even IPA yet) last night ready for C5 and it's amazing how suddenly you see all the tiny imperfections hidden by polishes, fillers and wax.

Personally I would try some C1 on a test item first, as things like the product solidifying in the applicator pad for example can catch you out.

MY12 Fuji Dynamic SD4 Manual, Pano Roof, Electric Tailgate with own Close module
[Image: 124529.png][Image: 1004887.png]
21-06-2012 11:44am
Deaky

Thanks Phil. Looks like I need some IPA and more cloths then Shocked
21-06-2012 12:04pm
WB
WB

Hi,

What Phil said.

Also New C1 (assuming you have the kit with C1.5) is much easier to apply so shouldn't be too much of an issue.

Depending on the age/condition of the car it's generally advised to polish the car (at least by hand) if it has any swirls etc on the paintwork before you apply the C1. GTechniq's own P1 is a great polish if you don't have one.

Also no real need to use a wax over the C1 - as it won't really add much value. You can layer the C1.5 if you want to.