Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Don’t be put off buying Evoque!
jcarrot

Anyone thinking of buying an Evoque and then reading the various posts on this forum recently would be rightly concerned and would probably go out and buy anything rather than Land Rover products.
As I understand it some 400,000 Evoques have now been made and sold around the world and if they were as bad as some people make out that would certainly not be the case.
I am a retired Farm Manager/Vegetable Grower and have been driving (officially) for 55 years, during that time I have had the privilege of either owning or having as a company car some 45 vehicles.
These have ranged from the Mini through Renaults, Audis, Rovers, Land Rovers, Jaguar, Subaru and at this moment an Evoque Pure Tech with Tech Pack, reverse camera etc.
The best car has been the Evoque for all round performance and comfort, the 9 speed box and low down torque make it as quick in real world situations as the 3.0 litre Subaru Outback and S-Type Jaguar I owned ( both 240 hp on tap ), for reliability the 2 Subaru Outbacks and the S-Type ( which I had from new until 8 years old ) are joint winners.
4 Land Rover Discoveries, 200Tdi, 300tdi and 2 TD5s one after the other were very reliable covering 500,000 miles in 10 years but were expensive to maintain, never letting me down but heavy on wearing parts and services.
The Evoque was 2 years old on the 1st March 2016 and has only done 12,500 miles in that time but all enjoyable, it puts a smile on my face each time I take it out.
It has not been without the odd problem or two though, on the first day of taking it out the Land Rover computer would not for some reason or other let the Dealer register it for about 6 hours.
The following week Land Rover got in touch, apologised for the problem and to compensate for our inconvenience offered £500 to spend on a weekend away, gratefully received!