Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
2012 Evoque USB Issues
Apache14

2012 Evoque USB Issues

Hello all 1st time posting Very Happy

So we have recently gotten a 2012/13 RR Evoque and its been a constant pain with playing from a USB stick in the arm rest compartment, I'm a Software Engineer for embedded systems and this is probably one of the most annoying USB issues iv ever seen. There is a lot of people around the internet complaining of USB issues and there are "lists" of tested USB sticks with some people saying USB stick X will work and others saying it will not .... this shouldn't be an issue as long as the USB stick and RR follows the USB base / USB mass storage standards :/ (enough ranting from me) .... here are the symptoms of this.

We have 3 USB sticks :-

* Non brand 8GB
* Lexar 16GB
* SanDisk Cruzer Fit 32 GB

Now all of them have a hand full of normal MP3's and are formatted as FAT32 (tried in both windows and linux to format) and most importantly they all have worked / do work for some time in their current state, For example this morning the SanDisk Cruzer worked for about 15min but after stopping and starting the car all we get is the "please connect device" message from the head unit.

The other day it was working "really well" and we where able to play some songs from the non brand drive, unplug that and then play some from the lexar . . . then the day after all we get is "please connect device" ... again

Overall i think we have been able to get the USB drive to play something for about 10% of the time, the rest we will just see "please connect device".

Iv used a USB voltage / power meter on it and it shows between 4.95 - 5.05 Volts and about 0.09 - 0.1amps, so thats all fine. The lexar has a nice "activity" LED that flashes when the device is accessed, and it flashes a for about 1/2 a second on plugging in and thats all.

Anyone have any advice ?

P.S. we took it to a RR dealer who got it working ... for the trip home and then stopped again